Request for Architecture Diagram

Hi all, I want to start by saying I’m a novice Ceramic and ComposeDB user. I have about 2 days of experience under my belt so please bear with me. My original message is here in the discord channel: Discord

I’m building a metadata logging service aimed at the data science community, and ideally on ComposeDB. I love the GraphQL interface. I have some questions regarding using Ceramic in production that I believe an architecture diagram would clear up for me and be extremely valuable on the “Running in production” guide.

I’m following the “Running in production” guide and I noticed that AWS S3 storage is recommended as the datastore. I’m guessing this is only for disaster recovery, but it raises the question of how often is data actually landing on IPFS if I’m using Ceramic? Say one of my users writes a JSON Object via GraphQL, does that data go straight to IPFS or is there a delay? In keeping with the goal of decentralization, I don’t want to own a storage object with my users data but I understand why it might be needed temporarily.

1 Like

Thanks for your post, @block-ops.eth!

AWS S3 is optionally used as the IPFS backend (i.e. where IPFS data is actually stored), so data is always landing on IPFS, just being housed in S3 via the go-ds-s3 plugin.

You can change this via configuration and choose to store this data on a mounted filesystem instead.

Please note that user data must be stored somewhere. Even if data were stored on the filesystem instead, that filesystem is still a point of failure/control, whether it’s a mounted volume in AWS, etc. or a hard disk on a server in a basement, since each of these resources will be controlled by someone.

Decentralization is achieved by having multiple interested parties run their own nodes, with more than one node “pinning” important data so that even if all but one node with that data pinned were to go down, that data will continue to be accessible.