Type CeramicClient is not assignable to type CeramicApi Error

Hello everyone! I’m new to Ceramic and was working on an application based on an older tutorial blog I found and I’ve run into an error I can’t seem to resolve. the Blog is a bit outdated, but I was able to resolve most of the errors as many where related to using ESM and a few references to older NPM packages. But the one I can’t seem to resolve is Type 'CeramicClient' is not assignable to type 'CeramicApi'.

For reference the blog I followed is here: How to build a simple notes app with IDX

and the specific line of code throwing the error is here: cermanic-test-app/idx.ts at 470542439d96ea2bf6951289f4b256ac85db7536 · jpvajda/cermanic-test-app · GitHub

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated it.

Hey there! If you import the CeramicApi type you should be able to typecast this like below

import { CeramicApi } from '@ceramicnetwork/common'
const idx = new IDX({ceramic as CeramicApi, aliases: definitions })
2 Likes

Usually that error indicates a mismatch in the package versions in use. Can you make sure you’re on all the most recent versions of all the Ceramic and ComposeDB packages, delete your package-lock.json file, and reinstall and rebuild and see if that helps?

1 Like

@stickykeys Thanks for the suggestion here, that approach is actually throwing a new set of typescript errors so it doesn’t seem to work in this case.

@spencer I deleted the package-lock.json file an ran npm install then npm outdated and here’s the output

npm outdated
Package                       Current    Wanted    Latest  Location                                  Depended by
@testing-library/user-event    13.5.0    13.5.0    14.4.3  node_modules/@testing-library/user-event  idx-demo-app
@types/jest                    27.5.2    27.5.2    29.2.5  node_modules/@types/jest                  idx-demo-app
@types/node                  16.18.11  16.18.11  18.11.18  node_modules/@types/node                  idx-demo-app